82nd Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Symposium on Quantitative Biology

Chromosome Segregation & Structure
May 31 - June 5, 2017
Poster Abstract Deadline: April 10, 2017


Terri Grodzicker, David Stewart, Bruce Stillman
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

We are pleased to host the 82nd Cold Spring Harbor Symposium which will focus on Chromosome Segregation & Structure and will address the enormous progress in our understanding of chromosome segregation, dynamics and stability, a topic not addressed at a CSHL Symposium for many years.

The Symposium will begin at 7:30 pm on Wednesday May 31st, and end on Sunday evening, with normal departures on Monday June 5th. The Symposium will include nine oral sessions (invited speakers only) and two poster sessions covering the latest research in diverse areas of Chromosome Segregation & Structure. The annual Dorcas Cummings lecture will take place on Saturday, June 3rd. Social events throughout the Symposium provide ample opportunity for informal interactions and will include a wine-and-cheese party, a beach picnic, cocktails and banquet, and departure brunch on Monday June 5th.


• Meiosis
• Mitosis
• Chromosome Segregation
• Centrosomes and Centrioles
• Ploidy, Chromosome Segregation Errors & Disease
• Asymmetric Cell Division
• Nuclear Architecture
• Chromosome Structure and Condensation
• Sister Chromatid Cohesion
• Genome Stability
• Germ Cells

Invited Speakers:
Genevieve Almouzni, Institut Curie/Research Centre, France   
Angelika Amon. Massachusetts Institute of Technology           
Yves Barral, ETH Zurich, Switzerland   
Marisa Bartolomei, University of Pennsylvania/Perelman School of Medicine   
Monica Bettencourt-Dias, Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciencia, Portugal   
Ben Black, University of Pennsylvania           
Gerd Blobel, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia       
Kerry Bloom, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill       
Sharon Cantor, UMASS Medical School       
Iain Cheeseman, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research       
Xin Chen, Johns Hopkins University       
Don Cleveland, University of California, San Diego
Monica Colaiacovo, Harvard Medical School
Jennifer DeLuca, Colorado State University           
Bernard De Massy, Institute of Human Genetics, France   
Arshad Desai, University of California San Diego           
Daniel Durocher, The Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Canada   
Hironori Funabiki, Rockefeller University       
Susan Gasser, Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland   
Daniel Gerlich, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology, Austria
Stephen Harrison, Harvard Medical School       
Edith Heard, Curie Institute, CNRS UMR3215, France   
Steven Henikoff, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center           
Martin Hetzer, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies  
Ian Hickson, The Panum Institute, Denmark   
Neil Hunter, University of California, Davis
Anthony Hyman, Max-Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology & Genetics, Germany
Maria Jasin, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Tarun Kapoor, The Rockefeller University          
Scott Keeney, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center           
Michael Lampson, University of Pennsylvaina           
Guohong Li, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China   
Barbara Meyer, HHMI/University of California, Berkeley       
Leonid Mirny, Massachusetts Institute of Technology           
Thomas Misteli, National Cancer Institute/NIH 
Timothy Mitchison, Harvard Medical School     
Kim Nasmyth, University of Oxford, UK   
Erich Nigg, University of Basel, Switzerland   
David Page, Whitehead Institute, MIT/HHMI       
David Pellman, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute       
Antoine Peters, Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland
Jan-Michael Peters, Research Institute of Molecular Pathology, Austria   
Oliver Rando, UMass Medical School       
Mitinori Saitou, Graduate School of Medicine, Kyoto University, Japan
Keishi Shintomi, RIKEN, Japan  
Allan Spradling, HHMI/Carnegie Institution       
Timothy Stearns, Stanford University       
Aaron Straight, Stanford University       
Frank Uhlmann, The Francis Crick Institute, UK   
Jan van Deursen, Mayo Clinic
Yoshinori Watanabe, University of Tokyo, Japan     
Stephen West, The Francis Crick Institute, UK   
Yukiko Yamashita, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor       
Kenneth Zaret, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine       

This conference is supported in part by funds provided by CSHL's Corporate Sponsor Program. Financial aid may be available for students, postdocs, and scientists at all career levels who are from U.S. minority groups underrepresented in the life sciences. Please apply in writing via email to Val Pakaluk and state your financial needs. Preference will be given to those who submit abstracts.

Social Media
The designated hashtag for this meeting is #cshlsymp17. Note that you must obtain permission from an individual presenter before live-tweeting or discussing his/her talk, poster, or research results on social media. Click the Policies tab above to see our full Confidentiality & Reporting Policy.

We hope to see you at Cold Spring Harbor in late May.

Academic Package $1,605
Graduate/PhD Student Package $1,355
Corporate Package $2,045
Academic/Student No-Housing Package $1,070
Corporate No-Housing Package $1,380

Regular packages are all-inclusive and cover registration, food, housing, parking, a wine-and-cheese reception, and lobster banquet. No-Housing packages include all costs except housing. Full payment is due four weeks prior to the meeting.