Molecular Mechanisms of Neuronal Connectivity
September 8 - 12, 2020
Abstract Deadline: June 19, 2020


Catherine Collins, University of Michigan
Rüdiger Klein, Max-Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Germany
Kang Shen, Stanford University
Yimin Zou, University of California San Diego

You are cordially invited to participate in the twelfth meeting on Molecular Mechanisms of Neuronal Connectivity to be held at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

The meeting will begin with dinner and the first session on the evening of Tuesday September 8 and will conclude after lunch on Saturday, September 12, 2020. The specific goals of this conference are to bring together a diverse group of scientists studying various molecular, cellular and genetic aspects of cell migration, axon guidance, synaptogenesis, and developmental plasticity of neural connectivity. This meeting is intended to provide a format for the exchange of ideas and information, to discuss the latest research findings and technical advances, and to facilitate the intellectual unification of research in this field.

Keynote Speakers:

Cori Bargmann, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative
Michael Greenberg, Harvard University Medical School
Alex Kolodkin, Johns Hopkins Medical School 


Axon Targeting
Axon Regeneration 
Synapse Assembly
Synaptic Specificity in Neural Circuits
Glial Control of Neuronal Circuitry
Neuronal Repair
Neuronal Circuitry Underlying Behavior
Neuronal Plasticity

Speakers and Session Chairs:

Nicola Allen, The Salk Institute for Biological Science
Thomas Biederer, Tufts University School of Medicine
Valerie Castellani, University of Lyon, France
Matthew Dalva, Thomas Jefferson  University
Alyson Fournier, McGill University, Canada
Lisa Goodrich, Harvard Medical School
Michael Granato, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine
Brock Grill, The Scripps Research Institute - Florida
Artur Kania, McGill University, Canada
Conor Liston, Weill Cornell Medicine
Rob Meijers, EMBL, Germany
Anna Victoria Molofsky, University of California, San Francisco
Beatriz Rico, Kings College London, UK
Dietmar Schmucker, VIB, KU Leuven, Belgium
Elena Seiradake, Oxford University, UK
Bing Ye, University of Michigan
Hongkui Zeng, Allen Institute for Brain Science
James Zheng, Emory University

The format of the meeting will include seven oral sessions consisting of talks from each of the invited session chairs, as well as short talks and three poster sessions, primarily chosen from openly submitted abstracts.  All speakers and chairs are strongly encouraged to stay for the entire meeting. The organizers will decide the suitability of each abstract for oral or poster presentation, but please specify if you prefer a poster. Status of abstracts will be posted on our web site as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers.

We are eager to have as many young people as possible attend since they are likely to benefit most from this meeting. We have applied for funds from government and industry to partially support graduate students and postdocs. Apply in writing to Val Pakaluk stating need for financial support - preference is given to those submitting abstracts.

We look forward to seeing you at Cold Spring Harbor in September.

This conference may be supported in part by funds provided by:


Academic Package: $1,560
Graduate/PhD Student Package:
Corporate Package: $2,055 
Academic/Student No-Housing Package:
Corporate No-Housing Package: $1,380 

We hope to have funds to provide partial scholarships for individuals who are US citizens/permanent residents from minority groups under-represented in the life sciences. Please provide justification in writing to Val Pakaluk and state your financial needs. Preference will be given to those applying who submit abstracts to the meeting.