In tribute to the character and accomplishments of Cecile M. Pickart (1954–2006), a student travel award was established in her name to encourage young scientists who give early evidence of perpetuating the salient qualities that were Cecile Pickart's: skill, insight, creativity, rigor, and dedication to science.

The Cecile M. Pickart Student Travel Award is an award given biennially to two young scientists for outstanding work in the field of ubiquitin. The award will be presented at the biennial Cold Spring Harbor meeting on ubiquitin (currently entitled “Ubiquitins, Autophagy & Disease”). The award for each of the two winners will at minimum cover a full attendance package at the meeting (includes registration, room and board), with the exact amount in any given year to be determined by the award committee and the fund manager. The award is also intended, depending on availability of funds, to provide a travel allowance over and above the cost of the full attendance package for the biennial ubiquitin meeting. A brief introduction of the year's awardees and the nature of the prize will be presented by the meeting organizers. The 2025 meeting will be held in Cold Spring Harbor, New York April 1 - 5, 2025.

ELIGIBILITY: All nominees must be graduate students currently enrolled in a recognized PhD program. International students are welcome to apply. Nominees must submit an abstract to the biennial Cold Spring Harbor ubiquitin meeting for consideration as an oral presentation by the normal deadline. Nominees should therefore be willing and able to report orally on their current research at the meeting.

SUBMISSION OF NOMINATIONS: Self-nomination is acceptable. Nominations should include a one page statement of the candidate's current research interests and research findings, a curriculum vitae and a letter of reference from the PhD mentor or advisor. Nominations should be submitted as pdf files via email to the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Meetings and Courses Program (2025 nominations should be sent to Ms. Jessica Palma). Nominations must be received by February 28, 2025.

AWARDS COMMITTEE: The selection of the awards from the submitted nominations will be made by majority vote of the members of the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee will include the Organizers of the current Cold Spring Harbor ubiquitin meeting and one [non-voting] faculty member of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory staff.

Members of the 2025 Award Committee:

Anne Bertolotti, MRC LMB, UK

Nicolas Thomä, Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland

Achim Werner, National Institutes of Health

David J. Stewart, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (Fund manager)

We acknowledge the efforts of the Awards Committee in the selection process, the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory in administering the endowment fund, and of the many private individuals who have provided generous support.