Drosophila Neurobiology: Genes, Circuits & Behavior
June 30 - July 20, 2017
Application Deadline: March 31, 2017


Karla Kaun, Brown University    
Chi-Hon Lee, National Institutes of Health
Stefan Pulver, University of St. Andrews, UK
Alex Keene, Florida Atlantic University

See the roll of honor - who's taken the course in the past 


This laboratory/lecture course is intended for researchers at all levels from beginning graduate students through established primary investigators who want to use Drosophila as an experimental system for nervous system investigation. This three-week course is designed to introduce students to a wide variety of topics and techniques, including the latest approaches for studying nervous system development, activity and connectivity, as well as complex behaviors and disease models. Daily research seminars present comprehensive overviews of specific subfields of nervous system development or function or focus on state-of-the-art techniques and approaches in Drosophila neuroscience. Expert guest lecturers discuss their findings and approaches, and bring along their own assays and techniques for students to learn in the laboratory part of the course. The hands-on portion of the course is centered on inquiry-based projects, utilizing the different morphological and physiological measurements and behavioral paradigms learned at the course. This includes molecular-genetic analyses, immunocytochemistry, recording of activity using electrophysiology and genetically encoded calcium indicators, optogenetic and thermogenetic control of neural activity, as well as numerous quantitative behavioral measures. Collectively, the course will provide a comprehensive and practical introduction to modern experimental methods for studying the neural basis of behavior in Drosophila.

Confirmed 2017 Speakers:

Kenta Asahina, Salk Institute 
Davi Bock, 
HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Kristin Branson, HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Andy Frank
, University of Iowa
Ulrike Gaul,
The University of Munich
Cengis Gunay, Georgia Gwinnett College
Ellie Heckscher, University of Chicago
Vivek Jayaraman, HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Phillip Keller, HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Minoree Kohwi, Columbia University
Joel Levine, University of Toronto, Canada
Matthieu Louis, Center for Genomic Regulation
Pavel Masek, Binghamton University
Nara Muraro, Instituto de Investigación en Biomedicina deBuenos Aires (IBioBA)-CONICET 
Astrid Prinz, Emory University
Michael Reiser, HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Alice Robie, HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Amita Seghal, University of Pennsylvania
Mei Shao, HHMI, Janelia Research Campus
Jill Wildonger, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Bing Zhang, University of Missouri

Social Media

Want an inside look into what this annual course is like? Be sure to check out our interviews with the 2017 instructors and a 2017 trainee over on Current Exchange, the CSHL Meetings & Courses blog. You can also connect with alumni on Facebook and Twitter via the CSHL Course Alumni Network.

Major Sponsors

The course is supported by funds provided by the National Institute of Drug Abuse, National Science Foundation, Helmsley Charitable Trust and Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Funding is available for domestic and international students accepted to this course. Please click on the "Sponsors & Stipends" Tab above to learn more about available funding options.

Scientists from developing countries accepted into this course may be eligible for scholarships provided by the International Brain Research Organization.

Cost (including board and lodging): $4,800 

The following button links to a short form that you can fill out to receive an email reminder a few weeks ahead of the application deadline. Note that it is not an official application form; to apply to the course, click the Application tab above. No fees are due until you have completed the full application process and are accepted into the course.

Students accepted into the course should plan to arrive by early evening on June 29 and plan to depart after lunch on July 20.