Transposable Elements
October 11 - 15 2022
Abstract Deadline: July 25, 2022

Orsolya Barabas, University of Geneva, Switzerland

Rob Martienssen, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Donald Rio, University of California, Berkeley

COVID-19: All participants planning to attend in-person will be required to provide documentary proof of full vaccination AND first booster (when eligible) with an FDA or EMA approved vaccine. Additional safety measures will be in line with current NY and federal guidelines. For more information, see COVID-19 Policies and Protocols.

You are cordially invited to participate in the fourth meeting on Transposable Elements to be held at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. The meeting will begin with dinner and the first session on the evening of Tuesday October 11, 2022, and will conclude with lunch on Saturday, October 15.

A primary goal of the meeting is to provide a forum for presentation of the latest research into transposable elements.

This meeting will consist of six oral sessions plus one poster session. Sessions will be made up of invited talks and talks selected from the openly submitted abstracts.

Keynote Speakers:
Julius Brennecke,
IMBA Institute of Molecular Biotechnology GmbH, Austria
Kathleen Burns, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

DNA Transposons I
DNA Transposons II
Transposon Control I
Transposon Control II
Impacts on the Host I
Impacts on the Host II
Variety & Evolution of Transposable Elements

Confirmed Discussion Leaders and Session Chairs:
Irina Arkhipova,
Marine Biological Laboratory
Daniel Barbash, Cornell University
Mireille Betermier, C.N.R.S., France
Miguel Branco, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Vincent Colot, IBENS, France
Sandra Duharcourt, Universite de Paris CNRS UMR7592, France
Frederick Dyda, National Institutes of Health/DHHS
Cedric Feschotte, Cornell University
Josefa Gonzalez, Institute of Evolutionary Biology, Spain
Vera Gorbunova, University of Rochester
Alba Guarne, McGill University, Canada
Astrid Haase, NIDDK / NIH
Ian Henderson, University of Cambridge, UK
Zoltan Ivics, Paul-Ehrlich Institut, Germany
Felipe Karam Teixereia, University of Cambridge, UK
Elizabeth Kellogg, Cornell University
Alex Kentsis, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Julie Law, The Salk Institute
Alice Lee, Harvard Medical School
Pascale Lesage, INSERM-CNRS-Paris University, France
Henry Levin, NIH / NICHD
Michelle Longworth, Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute
John Moran, University of Michigan Medical School
Coleen Murphy, Princeton University
Marcin Nowotny, International Institute of Molecular & Cell Biology, Poland
Donal O'Carroll, University of Edinburgh, UK
Jose Penades, Imperial College London, UK
Craig Pikaard, HHMI / Indiana University
Helen Rowe, Queen Mary University of London, UK
Kirsten Sadler Edepli, NYU Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Keith Slotkin, Danforth Plant Science Center, University of  Missouri
Barrett Steinberg, Tessera Therapeutiics
Sam Sternberg, Columbia University
Matthew Wilson, Vanderbilt University

Abstracts should contain only new and unpublished material and must be submitted electronically by the abstract deadline. Selection of material for oral and poster presentations will be made by the organizers and individual session chairs. The status of abstracts (i.e., talk or poster) will be posted as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers. Please bring this announcement to the attention of any of your colleagues who may be interested in participating in the meeting.

Financial Aid: Please apply in writing via email to Val  Pakaluk if you require financial support; preference will be given to those submitting abstracts.

Social Media: The designated hashtag for this meeting is #cshlTE22. Note that you must obtain permission from an individual presenter before live-tweeting or discussing his/her talk, poster, or research results on social media. Click the Policies tab above to see our full Confidentiality & Reporting Policy.

This conference may be supported in part by: TBA


In-Person Fees
Academic/Media Private Room/Private Bath Package: $1,655 
Academic/Media Private Room/Shared Bath Package: $1,555
Academic Shared Room Package: $1,415
Academic/Media No-Housing Package: $1,055
Student Package*: $1,315
Student No-Housing Package: $955
Corporate Private Room/Private Bath Package: $2,115
Corporate No-Housing Package: $1,515

*Student Housing is default double occupancy. Please enquire about availability and fees to upgrade to a private room.

NOTE: We cannot guarantee housing will be on campus

Room packages close 2 weeks before the meeting start date

Rules for Virtual Participation: Virtual participation will include access to the oral sessions via Zoom, access to the digital poster sessions and access to the Slack discussion channel, and the Leading Strand video archive.

Presenters: Individuals submitting abstracts and facing financial barriers should firstly request financial aid (see above). Permission to present your talk or poster virtually will be given only in exceptional circumstances and on a case-by-case basis. If you think you are eligible for an exemption from the requirement to present in person, please provide a justification in writing via email to Val Pakaluk.

Non-presenting participants: We plan to broaden access to the conference by allowing certain categories of non-presenting participants to attend virtually at reduced fees. Categories include: 
1. Individuals from low & middle-income countries; 
2. Individuals from non-LMIC countries in Asia, Australasia, Africa or South America; 
3. Individuals from US & Canadian minority-serving institutions; 
4. Individuals with a demonstrable financial barrier; 
5. Individuals with family obligations or other special circumstances. 
For categories 4 & 5 above, please provide a justification via email to Val Pakaluk

Virtual Fees
Late Fee (Registrations submitted after 5:00 p.m. ET on October 6, 2022)

Late Academic Virtual Package: $395
Late Student Virtual Package: $280
Late Corporate Virtual Package: $535