86th Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Symposium on Quantitative Biology

Genome Stability & Integrity

June 1 - 6, 2022
Poster Deadline: April 8, 2022


Terri Grodzicker, David Stewart & Bruce Stillman,
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Symposium 2020 Poster


COVID-19: All participants planning to attend in-person will be required to provide documentary proof of full vaccination AND first booster (when eligible) with an FDA or EMA approved vaccine. Additional safety measures will be in line with current NY and federal guidelines. For more information, see COVID-19 Policies and Protocols.


We are pleased to host the 86th Cold Spring Harbor Symposium which will focus on Genome Stability & Integrity. Many previous Cold Spring Harbor Symposia have addressed different aspects of this broad theme, including: Genes and Mutations (1951), Exchange of Genetic Material: Mechanism and Consequences (1958), Replication of DNA in Microorganisms (1968), DNA: Replication and Recombination (1978), Recombination at the DNA Level (1984), and Biological Responses to DNA Damage (2000). The enormous progress in the field in the past two decades has led me to conclude that the time is past due for another Symposium on this fascinating topic. 

The Symposium will begin at 7:30 pm on Wednesday June 1, and end on Sunday evening June 5, with normal departures on Monday June 6. The Symposium will include nine oral sessions (invited speakers only) and two poster sessions providing a current synthesis of the enormous progress in our understanding of how cells and organisms maintain the stability and integrity of their genomes, and how these mechanisms when aberrant may contribute to the progression of disease. The annual Dorcas Cummings lecture will take place on Saturday, June 4th. Social events throughout the Symposium provide ample opportunity for informal interactions and will include a wine-and-cheese party, a beach picnic, cocktails and banquet, and departure brunch on Monday June 6th.


  • DNA Replication & Replication Stress
  • DNA Repair Mechanisms & Connections
  • Chromosome Segregation & Stability
  • Genome Integrity in Mitosis & Meiosis
  • Gametogenesis & Early Development
  • Transposon Control and Mutational Burden
  • Diseases of Genome Instability

Invited Speakers:
Andrea Ablasser,
EPFL, Switzerland
Andres Aguilera, University of Seville, Spain
Mary Armanios, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Dana Branzei, IFOM, Italy
Keith Caldecott, University of Sussex, UK
Karlene Cimprich, Stanford University
Don Cleveland, University of California, San Diego
David Cortez, Vanderbilt University
Alan D'Andrea, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School
Sheila David, University of California, Davis
Titia de Lange, The Rockefeller University
John Diffley, The Francis Crick Institute, UK
Jessica Downs, The Institute of Cancer Research, UK
Daniel Durocher, Lunenfeld-Tananbaum Research Institute, Canada
Anindya Dutta, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Evan Eichler, University of Washington & HHMI
Stephen Elledge, Harvard Medical School
Cedric Feschotte, Cornell University
Susan Gasser, Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland
David Gilbert, San Diego Biomedical Research Institute
Roger Greenberg, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine
James Haber, Brandeis University
Thanos Halazonetis, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Andrew Jackson, MRC Human Genetics Unit, IGMM, UK
Stephen Jackson, Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK, Gurdon Institute, UK
Maria Jasin, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Jan Karlseder, The Salk Institute
Scott Keeney, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center & HHMI
Jim Lupski, Baylor College of Medicine
David MacAlpine, Duke University
Houra Merrikh, Vanderbilt University
Jo Morris, University of Birmingham, UK
Andre Nussenzweig, National Institutes of Health/NCI
Philippe Pasero, IGH, CNRS, France
Ketan Patel, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
David Pellman, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Mitinori Saitou, Kyoto University, Japan
John Schimenti, Cornell University
John Sedivy, Brown University
Agnel Sfeir, Sloan Kettering Institute
Agata Smogorzewska, The Rockefeller University
Bruce Stillman, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Terence Strick, Ecole Normale Superieure, France
Patrick Sung, UT Health, San Antonio
Azim Surani, Wellcome Trust Cancer Research, Gurdon Institute, UK
John Tainer, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Maria-Elena Torres-Padilla, Institute of Epigenetics & Stem Cells, Germany
Didier Trono, EPFL, Switzerland
Johannes Walter, Harvard Medical School & HHMI
Stephen West, The Francis Crick Institute, UK
Wei Yang, National Institutes of Health/NIDDK
Sarah Zanders, Stowers Institute for Medical Research
Xiaolan Zhao, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Lee Zou, Harvard Medical School

CSHL's Corporate Sponsor Program provides additional limited support for students and postdocs in need of financial support. Please apply in writing via email to Val Pakaluk and state your financial needs. Preference will be given to those who submit abstracts.

Social Media:

The designated hashtag for this meeting is #cshlsymp22. Note that you must obtain permission from an individual presenter before live-tweeting or discussing his/her talk, poster, or research results on social media. Click the Policies tab above to see our full Confidentiality & Reporting Policy.

This conference may be supported in part by funds provided by the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health


Academic/Media Private Room/Private Bath Package: $1,915 (Subject to availability.)
Academic/Media Private Room/Shared Bath Package: $1,790
Academic Shared Room Package: $1,615
Academic/Media No-Housing Package: $1,165
Student Package*: $1,505
Student No-Housing Package: $1,055
Corporate Private Room/Private Bath Package: $2,385
Corporate No-Housing Package: $1,635

*Student Housing is default double occupancy. Please enquire about availability and fees to upgrade to private room.

Room packages close 2 weeks before the meeting start date