May 22 - 27, 2017
Abstract Deadline: March 20


Vinay Pathak, National Cancer Institute
Stefan Sarafianos, University of Missouri School of Medicine

We are pleased to host the 42nd annual meeting on Retroviruses which will begin at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, May 22 and will conclude after lunch on Saturday, May 27, 2017.

We are looking forward to a broad-based meeting, and abstracts are welcomed on all aspects of retrovirology.


  • Virus Entry and IFITMs
  • Restriction Factors I: Serinc5 and APOBEC3
  • Reverse Transcription
  • Uncoating and Nuclear Import
  • Integration
  • RNA Expression, Transport and Packaging
  • Assembly and Restriction Factors II: TRIM5a and Tetherin/BST-2
  • Restriction Factors II: SAMHD1 and New Restriction Factors/Mechanisms
  • Transmission and Latency
  • Evolution/Endogenous Retroelements, Vpr, Innate Immune Response, and Pathogenesis
    Keynote Speakers:

    Stephen Hughes, National Cancer Institute
    Daria Hazuda, Merck

    Abstracts should contain only new and unpublished material and must be submitted electronically by the abstract deadline. Selection of material for oral and poster presentation will be made by the organizers and individual session chairs. Status (talk/poster) of abstracts will be posted on our web site as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers.

    The ANDY KAPLAN Prize: We are pleased to announce that this year’s meeting will again accept nominations for this prize which aim to honor the research achievements of a unique investigator in retrovirology who is entering the late stages of his or her postdoctoral work or at the early stages of an independent career. View Andy Kaplan Prize nominating instructions.
    The UTA VON SCHWEDLER Prize for Retrovirology was established in 2012 to be awarded annually with the purpose of honoring the accomplishments of a distinguished graduate student as he or she completes a dissertation in retrovirology. The cash prize is awarded directly to the student based upon their scientific accomplishments and promise. Additional information can be found here.
    The DANIEL WOLF Prize was established in 2011 to be awarded annually for the best poster presented at this annual meeting. There are no requirements for entry, all posters presented will be eligible, although preference will be given to graduate students and postdoctoral fellows embarking on a career in any aspect of retrovirology. More information here.

    We have funds to provide partial scholarships for individuals who are from U.S. minority groups underrepresented in the life sciences. Please apply in writing via email and state your financial needs; preference will be given to those who submit abstracts to the meeting. All questions pertaining to registration, fees, housing, meals, transportation, visas, abstract submission, financial aid, or any other matters may be directed to Heather Johnson.

    Social Media
    The designated hashtag for this meeting is #cshlretro. Note that you must obtain permission from an individual presenter before live-tweeting or discussing his/her talk, poster, or research results on social media. Click the Policies tab above to see our full Confidentiality & Reporting Policy.

    Want an inside look into what this annual meeting is like? Be sure to check out our interviews with the 2017 organizers and a 2017 participant over on Current Exchange, the CSHL Meetings & Courses blog.

    We hope to see you at Cold Spring Harbor in May.

    Major Sponsors:
    National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases, ViiV Healthcare


    Academic Package $1695
    Graduate/PhD Student Package $1445
    Corporate Package $2225
    Academic/Student No-Housing Package $1160
    Corporate No-Housing Package $1500

    Regular packages are all-inclusive and cover registration, food, housing, parking, a wine-and-cheese reception, and lobster banquet. No-Housing packages include all costs except housing. Full payment is due four weeks prior to the meeting.