Mechanisms of Eukaryotic Transcription
August 29 - September 2, 2017
Abstract Deadline: June 9, 2017


Patrick Cramer, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
John Lis,
Cornell University
Jane Mellor, University of Oxford, UK

The fifteenth meeting on transcriptional regulation in eukaryotes will be held at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory from Tuesday evening, August 29 to Saturday afternoon, September 2, 2017. The program will consist of both oral and poster presentations. The oral presentations will be by a combination of invited speakers and speakers selected from amongst submitted abstracts.

  • Creating Chromatin Architecture & Modulating Accessibility of Promoters & Enhancers
  • Mechanistic Roles of Transcription Factors I (Early Steps)
  • Mechanistic Roles of Transcription Factors II (Pause Release & Elongation)
  • The Regulatory Interplay Non-Coding & Coding Transcription & Chromatin Modification
  • Enhancers, Genome Architecture, and Long-Range Regulatory Interactions in Development
  • Co-Transcriptional RNA Processing and Termination
  • Transcription Regulation & Medicine
  • New Technologies & Concepts in Studies of Transcription Regulation

    Discussion Leaders:

    Karen Adelman, Harvard Medical School    
    Julie Ahringer, Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute, UK
    Stephen Buratowski, Harvard Medical School
    Christopher Burge, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Stirling Churchman, Harvard Medical School    
    Patrick Cramer, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
    Robin Dowell, University of Colorado    
    Dirk Eick, Helmholtz Zentrum Munchen, Germany
    Eileen Furlong, EMBL, Germany
    Steven Hahn, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center    
    Katherine Jones, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies    
    Cigall Kadoch, Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center    
    Robert Kingston, Mass General Hospital/Harvard Med School    
    Michael Levine, Princeton University    
    Domenico Libri, Institut Jacques Monod, France
    John Lis, Cornell University    
    Jane Mellor, University of Oxford, UK
    Shona Murphy, University of Oxford, UK
    Eva Nogales, HHMI/UC Berkeley    
    Nicholas Proudfoot, University of Oxford, UK
    B. Franklin Pugh, Penn State University    
    Danny Reinberg, HHMI/NYU School of Medicine    
    Robert Roeder, The Rockefeller University    
    Ali Shilatifard, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
    Alexander Stark, Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP), Austria
    Kevin Struhl, Harvard Medical School
    Jesper Svejstrup, The Francis Crick Institute, UK  
    Jussi Taipale, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
    Robert Tjian, University of California, Berkeley    
    David Tollervey, University of Edinburgh, UK
    Richard Young, Whitehead Institute/M.I.T.

    Please bring this notice to the attention of any of your colleagues who may be interested in participating in the meeting.

    All abstracts must be submitted by the abstract deadline. Late registrations may be accepted after the abstract deadline if the meeting is not oversubscribed. In the event of over-subscription, every effort will be made to ensure that all groups who wish to participate will be represented. The status (talk/poster) of abstracts will be posted on our web site as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers.

    We are eager to have as many young people as possible attend since they are likely to benefit most from this meeting. We have applied for funds from government and industry to partially support graduate students and postdocs. Please apply in writing via email to Val Pakaluk and state your financial needs; preference will be given to those who submit abstracts.

    Social Media
    The designated hashtag for this meeting is #moet2017. Note that you must obtain permission from an individual presenter before live-tweeting or discussing his/her talk, poster, or research results on social media. Click the Policies tab above to see our full Confidentiality & Reporting Policy.

    We look forward to seeing you at Cold Spring Harbor in August.

    Academic Package $1,455
    Graduate/PhD Student Package $1,210
    Corporate Package $1,865
    Academic/Student No-Housing Package $985
    Corporate No-Housing Package $1,250

    Regular packages are all-inclusive and cover registration, food, housing, parking, a wine-and-cheese reception, and lobster banquet. No-Housing packages include all costs except housing. Full payment is due four weeks prior to the meeting.