August 11 - 15, 2015
Abstract Deadline: June 14, 2015

Daniel Kelly, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute at Lake Nona           
Mitchell Lazar, University of Pennsylvania    
Susanne Mandrup, University of Southern Denmark

We are pleased to announce the second Cold Spring Harbor meeting on Metabolic Signaling & Disease: From Cell to Organism which will begin on Tuesday evening, August 11 and end at noon on Saturday, August 15, 2015.

Metabolic regulation is at the intersection of many scientific fields, ranging from basic biochemistry and molecular biology to physiology, to the study of disease pathogenesis. Currently, a major challenge for these diverse fields is to define commonalities and differences in metabolic pathways and their regulation, and determine the role of these processes for physiology and disease states. This meeting will fill an important gap by bringing together outstanding researchers focused on diverse pathways, cell types, or diseases with a common theme of understanding how metabolism is regulated in physiology and disease states.

Keynote Speakers:
Diane Mathis, Harvard Medical School
Daniel Rader, University of Pennsylvania

Discussion Leaders:
Barbara Cannon, Stockholm University, Sweden
Ana Maria Cuervo, Albert Einstein School of Medicine
Ralph deBerardinis, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
John Denu, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Ronald Evans, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Jorge Ferrer, Imperial College of London, UK
Vincent Giguere, McGill University, Canada
Christopher Glass, University of California, San Diego
Matthias Hentze, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) Germany
Stephan Herzig, German Cancer Research Center, Germany
David James, The University of Sydney, Australia
Takashi Kadowaki, The University of Tokyo Hospital, Japan
William Kaelin, HHMI/Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Anastasia Kralli, The Scripps Research Institute
Ormond MacDougald, University of Michigan Medical School
David Moore, Baylor College of Medicine
Deborah Muoio, Duke University School of Medicine
Anders Näär, Harvard University Medical School
Timothy Osborne, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute at Lake Nona
Catherine Postic,
Institut Cochin, INSERM, France
Jared Rutter, University of Utah
Bruce Spiegelman, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Amy Wagers, Harvard University
Juleen Zierath, Karolinska Institutet / University of Copenhagen
The format of the meeting will include eight oral sessions and two poster sessions. Each oral session will include invited speakers and speakers selected from submitted abstracts. For this reason, abstracts from accomplished junior and senior investigators are warmly invited. The abstracts should focus on new and unpublished data. The organizers will select abstracts for oral or poster presentations. We have applied for funds from government and industry to partially support graduate students and postdocs.

 We are eager to have as many young people as possible attend and we have applied for funds from government and industry to partially support graduate students and postdocs. Apply in writing to Demetria Mudar stating need for financial support - preference is given to those submitting abstracts.

We look forward to seeing you at Cold Spring Harbor in August.

This conference may be supported in part by funds provided by:

Academic Package $1,425
Graduate/PhD Student Package $1,185
Corporate Package $1,835
Academic/Student No-Housing Package $965
Corporate No-Housing Package $1,230

Regular packages are all-inclusive and cover registration, food, housing, parking, a wine-and-cheese party, cocktail reception, and lobster banquet. No-Housing packages include all costs except housing. Full payment is due four weeks prior to the meeting.

We have funds to provide partial scholarships for individuals who are US citizens/permanent residents from minority groups under-represented in the life sciences. Please provide justification in writing to Demetria Mudar and state your financial needs. Preference will be given to those applying who submit abstracts to the meeting.