Molecular Mechanisms of Neuronal Connectivity
September 25 - 29, 2018
Abstract Deadline: July 30, 2018


Linda Richards, University of Queensland, Australia
Peter Scheiffele, University of Basel, Switzerland
Kang Shen, Stanford University
Yimin Zou, University of California San Diego

You are cordially invited to participate in the eleventh meeting on Molecular Mechanisms of Neuronal Connectivity to be held at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

The meeting will begin with dinner and the first session on the evening of Tuesday September 25 and will conclude after lunch on Saturday, September 29, 2018. The specific goals of this conference are to bring together a diverse group of scientists studying various molecular, cellular and genetic aspects of cell migration, axon guidance, synaptogenesis, and developmental plasticity of neural connectivity. This meeting is intended to provide a format for the exchange of ideas and information, to discuss the latest research findings and technical advances, and to facilitate the intellectual unification of research in this field.

Keynote Speakers:

Eric Betzig, Janelia Farm Research Campus
Carol Mason, Columbia University, Zuckerman Mind Brain Behavior Institute
Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Stanford University

Special Lecture:
Katja Brose, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

Topics & Speakers and Session Chairs:

Neuronal and Glial Development
Sonia Garel, Institut de biologie de l"ENS de L'Ecole, France
Sean Millard, University of Queensland, Australia

Axon Targeting
Rudiger Klein, Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Germany
Jeroen Pasterkamp, University Medical Center, Utrecht, Netherlands

Axon Regeneration 
Valerie Cavalli, Washington University School of Medicine
Marc Hammarlund, Yale University School of Medicine

Synapse Assembly
Shernaz Bamji, University of British Columbia, Canada
Scott Soderling, Duke University School of Medicine
Synaptic Specificity in Neural Circuits
Yishi Jin, University of California, San Diego
Xiang Yu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China 

Glial Control of Neuronal Circuitry
Cagla Eroglu, Duke University Medical Center

Neuronal Repair
Zhigang He, Children's Hospital, Boston
Melissa Rolls, Pennsylvania State University

Neuronal Circuitry Underlying Behavior
Cornelius Gross, EMBL Italy
Ryohei Yasuda, Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience

Neuronal Plasticity
Yukiko Goda, RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Japan
Yasunori Hayashi, Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine, Japan

The format of the meeting will include seven oral sessions consisting of talks from each of the invited session chairs, as well as short talks and three poster sessions, primarily chosen from openly submitted abstracts.  All speakers and chairs are strongly encouraged to stay for the entire meeting. The organizers will decide the suitability of each abstract for oral or poster presentation, but please specify if you prefer a poster. Status of abstracts will be posted on our web site as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers.

We are eager to have as many young people as possible attend since they are likely to benefit most from this meeting. We have applied for funds from government and industry to partially support graduate students and postdocs. Apply in writing to Val Pakaluk stating need for financial support - preference is given to those submitting abstracts.

We look forward to seeing you at Cold Spring Harbor in September.

This conference may be supported in part by funds provided by: National Institute of Neurological Diseases & StrokeTravel awards supported by the Simons Foundation Autism Research Initiative (SFARI)


Academic Package $1485
Graduate/PhD Student Package $1235
Corporate Package $1905
Academic/Student No-Housing Package $1005
Corporate No-Housing Package $1280

We have funds to provide partial scholarships for individuals who are US citizens/permanent residents from minority groups under-represented in the life sciences. Please provide justification in writing to Val Pakaluk and state your financial needs. Preference will be given to those applying who submit abstracts to the meeting.