Call for Nominations: Larry Katz Memorial Lecture 2024

Dear Colleagues,

We are writing to solicit nominations for the biennial Larry Katz Memorial Lecture, to be given by an outstanding graduate student at the upcoming Cold Spring Harbor *Neuronal Circuits* meeting on March 20 -23, 2024.

The Larry Katz Memorial Lectureship was established in appreciation of the late Larry Katz for his pioneering work in understanding the organization, development and function of neuronal circuits. It is awarded to a graduate student who has done the most original and significant work in the past two years on neuronal circuits, and is presented in the biennial Cold Spring Harbor Meeting on *Neuronal Circuits*. The recipient of the honor will give a 40-minute lecture at a special session of the meeting, and will receive complimentary meeting registration and economy airfare to attend the conference.

The former winners were: Feng Zhang (2008), Andrea Hasenstaub (2008), Christopher Harvey (2010), Weizhe Hong (2012), Hidehiko Inagaki (2014), Neir Eshel (2016), and Justus Kebschull (2018), Linlin Fan (2020) and Ruben Vale (2022).

Nomination and Selection Procedure

Graduate students working in any area of neuronal circuits are eligible. Nominees may include students who have not yet completed their doctorate degree, and students who have defended their thesis since the *Neuronal Circuits* meeting in March 2022. Candidates should be nominated by their thesis advisors, in a nomination package including:

- 1) a letter outlining the candidate's qualifications and the significance of the research.
- 2) the candidate's CV.
- 3) PDFs of relevant reprints, preprints or manuscripts.

These materials should be e-mailed to Val Pakaluk, <u>pakaluk@cshl.edu</u>, by January 12th, 2024. The recipient of the honor will be notified by February 9th, 2024.

Thank you in advance for your help! We look forward to an event that honors both an outstanding student and Larry Katz.

Sincerely yours,

Ed Callaway, Salk Institute Gwyneth Card, Janelia Research Campus Annegret Falkner, Princeton University Rafael Yuste, Columbia University Manuel Zimmer, Vienna Biocenter