

THE 2025 <u>ELKINS MEMORIAL LECTURE</u> COMPETITION CSHL NEUROBIOLOGY OF *DROSOPHILA* MEETING

April 30, 2025

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the Elkins Selection Committee, I am soliciting your help in identifying outstanding students as candidates to present the 17th Elkins Lecture at the 2025 CSHL Neurobiology of meeting, which will be held from October 7-11. In 1991, with the assistance of the *Drosophila* Neurobiology community, Barry Ganetzky and Corey Goodman established this lectureship to honor the memory of Tom Elkins, a student and colleague who was tragically killed by a drunk driver. Their aim was to award the honor of presenting this lecture to a student who conducted the most original and significant research in *Drosophila* neurobiology during the previous two years. Previous Elkins lecturers include William Zagotta (1991), Ilaria Rebay (1993), Troy Littleton (1995), Hongkui Zeng (1997), Peter Clyne (1999), Julie Simpson (2001), Greg Jefferis (2003), Mathias Wernet (2005), Richard Daniels (2007), Young Kwon (2009), Cory Root (2011), Jan Melom (2013), Philip Coen (2015), Raphael Cohn (2017), Stephen Zhang (2019), Jenny Lu (2021) and John Vaughen (2023). The Elkins Lecture is always a highlight of the meeting and an opportunity to promote our graduate student colleagues.

Graduate students who worked in any area of *Drosophila* neurobiology are eligible. Candidates should be nominated for this honor by their thesis advisor. Ideal candidates are advanced Ph.D. students or recent Ph.D. graduates who completed significant research work since the last CSHL meeting in October 2023. The expenses of attending the meeting to present the lecture are reimbursed. A nomination letter outlining the qualifications of the candidate and the significance of the research, the student's CV, and PDFs of relevant manuscripts or preprints should be submitted electronically to troy@mit.edu by July 14, 2025. The Elkins Award Committee will notify the recipient of the honor by the first week of September.

Thanks for your help in ensuring this lectureship will continue to recognize outstanding young members of our field and serve as a lasting memorial to Tom Elkins. **Nominations to:** <u>troy@mit.edu</u>

Sincerely,

J. Troy Littleton, M.D., Ph.D., Menicon Professor of Neuroscience, MIT