Abstract Submission

Abstract Status

Media Registration

General Information

Travel Info

Campus Info

79th Cold Spring Harbor Symposium on Quantitative Biology
May 28 - June 2, 2014
Poster abstract deadline: April 17, 2014

Cori Bargmann, The Rockefeller University
Daphne Bavelier,
University of Geneva, Switzerland & University of Rochester
Terrence Sejnowski, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
David Stewart, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Bruce Stillman, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Past Symposia Pre-Symposium Olfaction Workshop

We are pleased to host the 79th Cold Spring Harbor Symposium which will address Cognition. The Symposium will begin at 7:30 pm on Wednesday, May 28, 2014 and end on the evening of Monday June 2 with normal departure on the following morning.

The Symposium will include 12/13 oral sessions and 2/3 poster sessions covering the latest research in diverse areas of cognitive neuroscience. Most of the talks will be given by invited speakers but we may select a few talks from openly submitted abstracts. Social events throughout the Symposium provide ample opportunity for informal interactions and will include a wine-and-cheese party, a beach picnic, cocktails and banquet, and departure brunch.

Motor Systems
Sensory Processing
Innate Circuits
Learning & Memory Systems
Behavioral Ethology & Evolution
Perceptual Decision-Making
Face and Object Recognition
Language and Communication
Number Cognition
Cognitive Control
Probabilistic Brain & Uncertainty
Cognitive Genetics
Dysfunction & Treatment
Social Neuroscience

David Anderson,
HHMI/California Institute of Technology
Dora Angelaki, Baylor College of Medicine
Richard Axel, Columbia University
Cori Bargmann, The Rockefeller University
Daphne Bavelier, University of Geneva, Switzerland & University of Rochester, NY
Alexander Borst, Max-Planck-Institute of Neurobiology, Germany
Carlos Brody, Princeton University
Gyorgy Buzsaki, NYU Neuroscience Institute
Marisa Carrasco, New York University
Marvin Chun, Yale University
Anne Churchland, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Mark Churchland, Columbia University
Patricia Churchland, University of California, San Diego
Yang Dan, University of California, Berkeley
Karl Deisseroth, Stanford University
Robert Desimone, McGovern Institute for Brain Research/MIT James DiCarlo, McGovern Institute for Brain Research/MIT
Allison Doupe
, University of California, San Francisco
Catherine Dulac, HHMI/Harvard University
Michale Fee, MIT
Russell Fernald, Stanford University
Loren Frank, University of California, San Francisco
Adam Gazzaley, University of California, San Francisco
Paul Glimcher
, New York University
Ann Graybiel, MIT
Hopi Hoekstra, Harvard University
Thomas Jessell, Columbia University
Nancy Kanwisher, MIT
Adam Kepecs, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
David Kleinfeld, University of California, San Diego
William Kristan, Jr.,
University of California, San Diego
Patricia Kuhl, University of Washington
Joseph LeDoux, New York University
Shawn Lockery, University of Oregon
Zachary Mainen, Champalimaud Neuroscience Programme, Portugal
Eve Marder, Brandeis University
Markus Meister, California Institute of Technology
Tirin Moore, Stanford University
J. Anthony Movshon, New York University
Eric Nestler, Mount Sinai University
Elissa Newport, Georgetown University Medical Center
Yael Niv, Princeton University
Steven Petersen, Washington University School of Medicine
Michael Platt, Duke University
Alexandre Pouget, University of Geneva, Switzerland and University of Rochester
John Reynolds, The Salk Institute
Ranulfo Romo, Instituto de Fisiologia Celular, Mexico
Matthew Rushworth, University of Oxford, UK
Phillip Sabes, University of California, San Francisco
Terrence Sejnowski, The Salk Institute
Michael Shadlen, Kavli Institute of Brain Science
Eero Simoncelli, New York University
Elizabeth Spelke, Harvard University
Michael Stryker, University of California, San Francisco
Karel Svoboda, HHMI/Janelia Farm Research Campus
David Tank, Princeton University
Susumu Tonegawa, RIKEN Brain Science Institute & MIT
Doris Tsao, California Instiute of Technology
Michael Wigler, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Daniel Wolpert, University of Cambridge, UK
Tony Zador, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

We are accepting abstracts for consideration as poster presentations. Abstracts should contain only new and unpublished material and must be submitted electronically by the abstract deadline. Status of abstracts will be posted on our web site as soon as decisions have been made by the organizers.

Thanks to the generous support of The Swartz Foundation funds are available to provide partial stipends to junior scientists wishing to actively present their work at the Symposium. Please provide justification in writing to Val Pakaluk ( Award decisions will be made by March 31.

We look forward to seeing you at Cold Spring Harbor in May/June.

The Symposium is supported in part by funds provided by CSHL's
Corporate Sponsor Program.

We have funds to provide partial scholarships for individuals who are US citizens/permanent residents from minority groups under-represented in the life sciences. Please provide justification in writing to Val Pakaluk ( and state your financial needs. Preference will be given to those applying who submit abstracts.

Academic Package $1780
Graduate/PhD Student Package $1535
Corporate Package $2255
Academic/Student No-Housing Package $1225

Corporate No-Housing Package $1525
Currency converter

Regular packages are all inclusive and cover registration, food, housing, parking, wine-and-cheese party, lobster banquet, etc. No Housing packages include all costs except housing. Full payment is due 4 weeks prior to the meeting.





Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Meetings & Courses Program
PO Box 100, 1 Bungtown Road
Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724-2213
Phone (516) 367-8346
Fax: (516) 367-8845